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The purpose of this board is to provide additional guidance for coaches and judges when interpreting NFHS and 
Massachusetts rules and regulations.  It does not take the place of the NFHS Rules Book or diminish a coach’s 

responsibility to read the rules book, including the situation rulings, to fully comprehend all rules in order to safely 
and correctly teach skills to athletes.  Please review the rules book prior to submitting a request for clarification. 

2017-18 RULINGS AND CLARIFICATIONS 
The NFHS has provided additional guidance on new and EXISTING rules.  Please review this information 

carefully.  In some cases these new interpretations modify previous rulings. 

DATE QUESTION ANSWER RULE(S) 

2017-11-01 In our flip pyramid, the bracers start in 
preps but then drop to thigh stands as the 
center flyer is coming down from the flip.  
Is this legal? 

No.  This is illegal because while the flip is still 
happening, the bracers are no longer in preps.  
From a safety standpoint, the reason we want 
them in preps is to be able to help control the 
top during the flip and the landing. If they 
aren't in the skill, they aren't stable enough to 
do that.  The bracers must remain in preps until 
the completion of the flip. 

NFHS 3-3-5 

2017-11-01 Can extended heel stretches brace each 
other? 

Extended stunts may brace each other however 
the connection is limited to hand/arm to 
hand/arm only. 

NFHS 3-4-3 

2017-11-01 Are suspended rolls allowed with only one 
arm? 

No.  It is illegal under NFHS rules, which 
require a single based suspended roll to have 
hand to hand contact with both hands. 
However, if the spotter on the side grabs the 
top person's wrist, it would make the skill a 
double based suspended roll, which only 
requires that two people are in contact with the 
upper body of the flyer.  Important note - they 
can't hold onto the other base's wrist. That 
would still be one person holding onto the top 

NFHS 3-3-6c(2)2 

2017-11-01 Can a person on the floor be the second 
bracer for a flip pyramid? 

Trick question.  This type of skill is actually 
considered a “Braced Roll” and falls under 
Rule 3-3-4 because the inverted flyer has 
continuous contact with a person who is in 
direct contact with the performing surface (aka 
floor).   

NFHS 3-3-4 

2017-11-01 I have a flyer in an extension that performs 
a half twist before being caught in a cradle 
on her stomach.  Is this legal? 

This release skill would be illegal.  It would 
require continuous contact between a 
base/spotter and the top person in order to be 
legal for high school 

NFHS 3-4-4 
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2017-11-01 My stunt group is in an extension.  The back 
spot holds the ankles as the 2 bases provide 
a slight pop and the flyer is caught in a 
prone position at the shoulders by the two 
bases.  Is this legal as long as the back spot 
holds on the whole time? 

Yes.  If the back spot maintains contact with 
the flyer, this is a legal vertical to horizontal 
transition.  Also, the flyer must not become 
inverted when she is caught by her bases. 

NFHS 3-4-4 

2017-11-01 Is a 1 and ½ express up legal? No.  Release stunts are limited to 1 and 1/4 
twists by the flyer under Rule 3-5-2 on page 25.   

NFHS 3-5-2 

2017-11-01 Can I do a ball up from a sponge to an 
extended heel stretch? 

No.  You can’t do a ball up from a sponge to 
any position.   

A release is only allowed from prep level 
provided the flyer remains vertical.  The 
intention is to limit the height of the release.  A 
release from a load/sponge position has the 
potential to go much higher and is considered a 
toss. 

NFHS 3-5-5 

 


