The Michael J. Kane Wellness Award

In recognition of efforts to promote the health and well-being of children and young adults across Massachusetts through positive lifestyle choices.

The Michael J. Kane Wellness Award Recipients

John Crocker, M.Ed.
Methuen Public Schools

Jeff Perrotti
DESE Safe Schools Programs for LGBTQ Students

James Orrigo
Lad in a Battle

Chris Sullivan
Not in the Playbook

Michael Ostiguy

Edward W. Caisse III
Hampden County Sheriff’s Department

Leominster High School L.E.A.D.
Let’s Empower, Advocate and Do

Sean Gilrein
Shepherd Hill Regional High School

Magi and John Bish
The Molly Bish Foundation


Bill Gaine
MIAA Deputy Director Emeritus

Roberta Doering

Martha Harding
Kevin Ringhofer

This prestigious award has been established in memory of the late Michael Kane. Michael’s legacy is significant. Following his retirement from the Monson Schools, Michael became the Director of Student Services for the MIAA, a position that he held for ten years. Michael’s leadership and service over decades clearly impacted both the MIAA and MSSAA families. He served as President of the MSSAA during the 1986-87 academic year. He is a former MSSAA Assistant Principal of the Year, MIAA Distinguished Service Award recipient, and was honored in 1998 with the MIAA/Sherman A. Kinney Award for outstanding contributions to high school basketball. He was also a long-standing member of the MIAA Board of Directors and Chair of the MIAA Basketball Committee. Michael’s passion and great achievement was providing guidance and programs to the students of Massachusetts, particularly in helping them make healthy life choices. The MIAA Student Services initiative grew substantially under Michael’s leadership, creating several innovative wellness and student leadership programs. In the spring of 2010, Mike lost a valiant battle with cancer. He will always be remembered for the compassion, kindness and care that he displayed for others. This award honors Mike’s legacy and seeks to recognize those who share his motivation for making a difference in the lives of others.

Nominations and selections made by MIAA and MIAA Partners in Prevention Committee.

Contact Pete Smith for further information @