# **MIAA Field Hockey Committee**

## Virtual Meeting Minutes April 10, 2024

1. Meeting called to order at 10:03 am by Chair Mary Ryan

### Welcome and Introductions:

**Committee Members** (District # or board position)

Present: Dave Bouchard (2), Gary Brown (7), Chris Carbone (9), Karen Gomez (1), Katherine Hennessey (MASC), Shelly Morris (8), Mary O'Connor(9), John O'Neil (coaches rep), Anne Palumbo (3), John Parisi (5), Patti Rowe (officials rep), Mary Lou Thimas (member-at-large), Mary Ryan, Annette DiMascio (TD), Sherry Bryant (FH liaison).

Regrets: Scott Palladino (8), Jennifer Reynolds (2),

Not Present: Susan Charochak (MASS), Grace Cunningham (6), Steve Martin (4), Ryan Murphy (4), Amy

Rose (5), Kelly St Coeur (7), Elizabeth York (3)

Guests: Jan Martin (MIAA Staff)

### 2. Minutes of the December 7, 2023, Meeting

Minutes Accepted–ML Thimas, 2<sup>nd</sup> O'Neil unanimous.

### 3. Fall 2024 Format Review

- Review the changes from December meeting and all were included in the 2024 FH Format
- Request for yellow balls (easier to see with night games). Understand that the balls are donated and orange balls were offered. But would like to request ,if offered , for next season bright yellow.
- Socks for the home team white. as per NFHS rules not light

#### 5. Other.

- Jen Govin and Sherry Bryant sit on the NFHS FH committee
- Coaches ED Camp August 10 Maybe offer officials ED camp.????
- schools are using REF REPS to educate students on officiating sports
- Face Mask- MIAA modify to permit Face Masks on corners using language from FIH, NCAA,,the MIAA Mods cannot be added or changed until 2025. Katherine Hennessey will submit modifications – before June 1
- Dave Broussard related to the committee of schools routinely on turf are refusing to schedule games (non-league) that play on grass fields. This can affect the power rankings (level of play and opponents) because competitive teams will not play them.
- 7. Next Meeting Date September 2024 TBA
- **8. Adjournment** 10:44 AM Rowe 2<sup>nd</sup> Thimas unanimous

Respectfully submitted,

### Patti Rowe

**FH Committee Secretary**