Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Council

The MIAC was created in 1950. It has a Constitution which is separate and independent of the MIAA Constitution. The MIAC membership, excluding at-large gender or diversity appointments, includes four school committee members, four school superintendents, four MIAA member school principals, two middle level school principals, and four athletic directors. The term of each member is three years and a member from the MASC serves as Chair and the Executive Director of the MIAA serves as secretary.

The two major functions of the MIAC are to act on all rule change proposals, and to serve as an appellate body to the Eligibility Review Board or the Board of Directors. The Council may not act on any topic that has not been reviewed by the Board of Directors, or in the case of individual student eligibility, that has not already been denied by the Eligibility Review Board.

Meetings of the MIAC are held in the Fall and Spring each year. In addition, meetings are called when necessary to consider urgent matters of business.

Committee Members

MIAC Officers

  • James Adams, M.A.S.S. Ashland
  • Andy Crisafulli, Athletic Director Dartmouth HS
  • Charlie Ellis, MASC Nashoba Valley
  • Laura Fallon, MASC Northampton
  • Maurice Hancock, MASC Brockton
  • Jeff Lareau, Athletic Director Smith Voc Tech HS
  • Deb LaValley, MASC Amesbury
  • Elizabeth Legault, M.A.S.S. East Bridgewater
  • Jennifer Mannion, Principal Miscoe Hills Middle School
  • Mike O’Connor, Athletic Director Ursuline Academy
  • Aaron Polansky, M.A.S.S. Old Colony
  • Michael Richard, M.A.S.S. Lee
  • Joel Stembridge, Principal Charlestown HS
  • Marc Talbot, Principal Pembroke HS

Important Committee Information

Meeting Dates
  • November 10, 2021 – Virtual
  • May 25, 2022
Agenda and Minutes