Sportsmanship Committee

Membership of the Sportsmanship, Integrity and Ethics Committee elected by the Assembly consists of one principal and one athletic director from each of the eight athletic districts except District E which has two principals and two athletic directors; two coaches, and two enrolled game officials representing boys and girls activities, in addition to one school committee member and one superintendent elected or appointed by their respective associations. Duties and responsibilities of the Sportsmanship, Integrity and Ethics Committee include “prepare and promote strategies designed to improve the attitudinal postures of all constituencies” and “warn, censure, place on probation, or suspend up to one calendar year any player, team, coach, game or school official, or school determined to be acting in a manner contrary to the standards of good sportsmanship.”

Committee Members

Liaison – Rob Pearl, MIAA, Assistant Director
District 1
Jesse Carpenter, Principal, Mount Everett Regional High School
Wesley Jackson, Athletic Director, Paulo Freire Social Justice Charter School
District 2
Derek Atherton, Principal, Hopedale Jr./Sr. High School
Kevin May, Athletic Director, Oxford High School
District 3
Matt Biggs, Assistant Principal, Nashoba Regional High School
Steve Kendall, Athletic Director, Ayer-Shirley Regional High School
District 4
Meghan Patrissi, Assistant Principal, Woburn Memorial High School
Naomi Martin, Athletic Director, Lexington High School
District 5
Daniel Thorton, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director, Pentucket Reg. HS
Dave Johnson, Athletic Director, North Reading
District 6
Peter Shaughnessy, President/Principal, Bishop Stang
Kristen Kelly, Athletic Director, Notre Dame Academy (Hingham)
District 7
Kelley St. Coeur, Principal, Ashland High School
Joseph Cusack, Athletic Director, Foxborough High School
District 8
Kathryn Rezendes, Assistant Principal, New Bedford High School
John Moran, Athletic Director, Seekonk High School
District 9
Jeff Sylvia, Principal, East Bridgewater High School
Peter Serino, Athletic Director, Abington High School
William Haggerty
Patricia Gonzalez, Athletic Director, Newton South High School
Ryan Conway, Athletic Director, Boston English High School
Jared Scarpaci, Coaches Rep
Michelle Hopkinson, Coaches Rep
Ric Beaudoin, Official Rep
Rachel Hutchinson, Official Rep
Meeting Dates

September 14, 2021 – Committee Meeting – 12:00 pm
October 26, 2021 – Sub committee – Essay Contest
March 15, 2022 – Virtual Committee Meeting
March 25, 2022 – Sportsmanship Summitt at Gillette Stadium
June 14, 2022 – Committee Meeting